A pleasant and picturesque view of the town of Staines and old St. Mary’s Church, seen from the further bank of the Thames, with barges in the foreground. The name ‘Staines’ (mentioned in the Domesday Book), is supposed to derive from the ‘stone’ monument (shown here on the left) that marks the boundary of the former jurisdiction of the Corporation of the City of London over the lower Thames. It is still considered to be the bounday between the upper and lower Thames.
Staines Church, with the City Stone on the Banks of the Thames.
Robert Havell after William Havell Staines Church, with the City Stone on the Banks of the Thames. London, Thomas McLean August 1st 1818 Aquatint Original hand-colouring 420x550mm
SKU: 2596 Category: Topography